Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New... First Post and questions.

Hello,

I am new to scrolling and have wanted to scroll for years but couldn't convince my husband that my having a saw was worthwhile. An instructor of mine was kind enough to give me an old Dremel 1680 that was mounted on a board and I have been using it the past 6 months or so. It vibrates a lot and it stalls multiple times during a project and often cannot be restarted for a few hours after it stalls.

Anyway, I finally convinced my husband and he said I could maybe get a nice saw. I have been looking on the gently used market. I love the Excalibur tilting arms but I found a 10 year old EX30-VS (the black one on a stand) for $600 with very few hours on it as it hasn't been used much at all... only a few times. I know that Excaliburs were supposed to be good saws even before the new design with General but I don't know if it would be a worthwhile purchase or not. I am seeking advice from those of you older and wiser scrollers about whether you think I would be making a mistake or not. Please give you input.

Thank you,

Siouxgirl

Welcome A Board!! You will be hard pressed to find a friendlier or more knowledgeable group on the net re: woodworking. Share your knowledge and do not hesitate to ask questions.

You may find the stickies at the top of this forum to be very helpful. Use the Link below.

Message Board FAQ, Suggestions and Feedback - Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts Message Board.

Take a few minutes to read through them. They are chock full of great information.

Be sure and share pics of your projects. We thrive on pictures.

The only dumb question is the one that remains unasked.

Whatever reason brought you to our forum we are pleased you found us.

Take some time to read the bylaws of the forum. We do not allow open/direct selling on the forum.

Personal opinion $600 is a bit steep for a used saw.
    "Still Montana Mike"