Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chip Carving Question

Hi,

I am a beginner in Chip carving. I bought some basswood practice blanks to chip away. I am finding that the wood splinters when I cut in certain directions. I know this has something to do with teh direction of the grain. But then, I was told that basswood is suppopsed to have little or no grain. What I am doing wrong? Could this be because of a dull knife or a mistake in technique.

Re: Chip Carving Question

Not being aware of what type of knives you have, it's kind of hard to give you a good answer.......BUT, most knives, even the best, neet to be honed and stropped prior to use, and stropped regularly to keep that razor-keen edge. If they are not meticulously sharp, they are apt to tear when cutting across the grain, or especially when working against the grain.

My suggestion would be to make sure you have razor sharp blades before starting. If you can see any striations on the blade's edge, they are not sharp. Proper stropping will put that mirror finish on the blade that is critical for clean cuts.

It is also possible that the blanks you bought are a bit punky. The wood should be solid and not stringy. Some basswood is sold that is not top quality, and it is more difficult to work with. I think that most carvers have run across this and have learned from experience, what to look for in good quality wood. Soft is not always better......balsa wood is extremely soft but is terrible carving. Even though you don't want rock hard wood to work with, you will find that a firm texture to the wood gives good results.

Hope this helps.

Al

Comment