background texture

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• background texture

I am a beginning carver (self taught). I am finishing my first carving. It is the headpiece on the top of a full length dressing mirror. I guess you could compare it (the carved part) to the back of a chair, that has a relief carved into it. My question is the background on this type of carving usually has a texture to it, how do you do the texturing. Most of the time it looks like someone took a point of something and tap it hundreds of times to do the texturing. I would like to know the tool and the process to do this. Any insight into this would be appreciated.

Re: background texture

I have done something similar to walking sticks and have used a dremel..sometimes with the small round burrs and other times with the pointed...suggest you get a dremel set, a good one if you are going to keep carving and experiment with the effects you get with the different burrs on a piece of scrap of the same type wood! I should add, I used 3 or 4 different size round burrs and went directly into the wood causing a round crater, and staggering the holes and using different sizes of burrs, it leaves a nice effect. (by directly, I mean straight in, not with the dremel tilted..hope that is understandable?)

Comment

Check at

www.leevalley.com

They sell a set of background texturing punches, specifically made for that.

Al

Comment

If you don't want to buy them, you can make your own with a fie and a bolt. Depends how much time you want to spend and whether or not you like the patterns on the purchased ones.

Comment

I've seen people use a phillips head screwdriver point to texture. There are different shapes of screwdrivers used in cars that are star shaped, square shaped etc. you might try.. check out your local auto parts store.. I don't know how well they would work, but it don't hurt to try! :P
          GaFred

Comment