New Scroller Here

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Scroller Here

Hello all! My name is Corey and I am new to the scroll sawing world. I have experience in woodworking just not a whole lot of it in scrolling, some but not a lot. I really enjoy working with wood and my hands and the satisfaction that comes from knowing I made it myself! I am looking forward to getting to know you all better and to learn from you.

So starting out in scroll sawing I figured I would probally need a scroll saw!!! I have just about every other saw besides that one so I bought a DeWalt DW788. After reading numerious reviews and comparing saw's I figured this was the best saw for the money! Hope I was right! I ordered a couple patterns already but figure I need a little pratice on simplier projects first, the Chimes of Normandy is probally not the best first project to try.

I look forward to chatting with you all soon!

Welcome aboard.

You will finds lots of patterns in the ScrollSaw Workshop magazine.
    If there is something in particular you are looking for, ask away.

The Chimes of Normandy good point.

Each journey is started with one step. If that step involves cutting a hole in a piece of wood, then the journey to the chimes of Normandy is just more steps.

All kidding aside. I once started the Dome clock, and I didnt have the experience I required to choose the correct materials. So there it is sitting in my basement, half complete....always the optomist.....I used 1/8 red oak. I should have used 1/4 maple oh well I do have enough wood to finish it sometime.

Have fun here and your saw is a good one so I know you will scroll lots!
    CAЯL HIRD-RUTTEЯ
    "proud member of the best scroll sawing forum on the net."
    Ryobi SC180VS scroll saw EX21

Comment

Welcome,

I have the same saw and enjoy it since I purchased it.
      Now you'll see you have to buy the accompaniments:
      Good blades, foot switch, books, make a blade holder...