Relief Carving Tools

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Relief Carving Tools

This might be better in the Beginner section, but here goes. For those of you who carve reliefs anywhere from 8x10' to 24x24', or so. What tools do you prefer to use?

Do you use the 'bent' or 'spoon' gouges a lot? Do you normally outline using the shape of the gouges? Do you use a knife very often? I am trying to get back into doing a few reliefs and can hardly remember the tools that came in the handiest. It seems I remember using one of my old pocket knives a lot. :-[

Also, any especially good books you can recommend?

PS: I am NOT a beginner. I just sound like a beginner... :-/

Re: Relief Carving Tools

I mainly use straight shaft tools. I will use back bent gouges once in awhile. For outlines I use a V tool, but I do use a detail knife for finer areas. For books I recomend anyhing by Chris Pye. Nora Hall has some great videos that I highly recomend. As a matter of fact I will be carving along side Nora Hall this summer. She moved to Michigan so I can take a few weekend trips to study with her. I am really looking forward to it.

Take Care
    Dale

Comment

Where did Nora Hall move to in Michigan? That would be a fantastic weekend trip.

For info on relief carving visit Bill Judt's site at http://wwwoodcarver.com/AssortedWebPages/myhome.html
      I Cut It Six Times And It's Still Too Short!!!

Comment

She moved to Troy Michigan. Visit her web site to get her phone number and you can set up a time. She charges by the hour so you can have a session that would fit within your budget and time allowance. I plan on taking one day sessions. I can leave Milwaukee Friday nights and spend the day carving on Saturday and come home that night.

www.norahall.com

Dale

Comment

What a jewel of a site. His step-by-step of the Prodigal Son is marvelous! Thanks very much for that reference.

However, I did not see answers to my questions.

Comment