The words I hate the most

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The words I hate the most

When I read "wood or your choice" or the "blade of choice" in an article, I would really appreciated knowing at least what the sample is made of and what other woods may work.

I know that every one likes certain types of blades but being a newbie I would like to know what the author uses.

Just my 2 cents

Don
    Don McFarland ​Member - Durham Woodworking Club http://www.durhamwoodworkingclub.com/

Don,
    Almost any wood, any blade will work for almost anything. As you progress you'll find what works for one doesn't always work for everyone. Best to find your comfort zone and keep pushing what you perceive as limits because there really aren't any. Just have fun and enjoy the work. The absolute worst that can happen is winning the most beautiful firewood contest.
    Don't be afraid to tackle anything. Rob
    May the wind at you back .....
    Not be from Lunch.

Don't take life too seriously; No one gets out alive.

Beauty is in the eye of the BEERHOLDER

Visit My Gallery

Oily's Gallery

http://www.picturetrail.com/oily11

Comment

One of the first "complex" projects I did was shown in the magazine in 1/4" cherry. Since I did not have access to/funding for cherry, I opted for oak and had I known what I was doing on angle cut, the project would have turned good. The wood had no effect on the project--only my shortcomings in geometry.

Oily may use one blade for 1/2" poplar, while I will use another and yet another cutter will have a third opinion on the same pattern and material. You WILL be able to figure it out after a few tries, as long as you are willing to accept a few mistakes and know that some pieces will just not be show piece perfect.

Patience and practice are the two biggest keys to enjoying scroll sawing. It's only a mistake if you make it the third time!
      Jim
      When looking at the clock at work--the correct time is: