Leather or Not

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Leather or Not

Is honing a knife on a piece of flat wood better than using a piece of leather? Which way will keep an edge longer? I use the yellow stick compound. ???

Re: Leather or Not

I don't think either way is better, just different! I've only used leather, but have friends who use wood, and our knives are not noticebly different. Either way, all you are doing is removing the wire edge and polishing out the striation marks from the stone.

As far as which will keep the edge longer, I don't think the type of strop has any bearing on that. It has more to do with the hardness and abrasiveness of the wood you are carving.

Al

Comment

I've been using leather for the four or five years that I've been carving. However, I just read last night that continued honing with leather will tend to round the edge and change the angle at which you have to apply pressure to the tool or kniife. To correct this requires using a stone. I haven't really noticed this, probably because I touch up with a hard arkansas stone frequently. I got this from the instructions packed with a 'Flexcut SlipStrop' that I just purchased. I have no idea how much difference it really makes but for whatever it's worth....

Comment