Earthquakes and strange midday sun in Mexico

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Earthquakes and strange midday sun in Mexico

This morning we felt a mild tremor at home here in Pachuca, Central Mexico. After checking the news a 7.4 earthquake was reported near the west Pacific coastline in the state of Oaxaca.

Details are still coming in and apart from a tsunami alert for that part of the coast there is little indication if any damage was done.

Mexico City to the south of us felt much stronger tremors and again we are waiting to hear of any damages. Fingers crossed all is well.

Whether a coincidence or not I walked out into our back carden exactly at midday to see another natural phenomenon I haven't seen before, namely a rainbow halo around the sun.

Getting a photo of the sun at midday when it is overhead and shining its brightest at Midsummer is something I have never tried to take before but I had to have a go

With a bit of post photo processing this is what I ended up with.

Kinda reminds me of The Alan Parsons Project' hit from days of my youth.
    sun2.jpg
    Last edited by jim_mex; 06-23-2020, 01:32 PM. Reason: uploaded incorrect image
    Jim in Mexico

Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.
    - Albert Einstein

And an hour later, after a nice sunny morning, the forecasted thunderstorm rolled in
    Jim in Mexico

- Albert Einstein

Comment

The ring might be the result of this extreme dust cloud that is coming this weekend.
      Scott
      Creator of fine designer sawdust.

Comment

I’ve noticed that reign once or twice when I was in Texas visiting my daughter in the summer. Has something to do with the moon I think that’s what I heard.
        Betty

"Congress needs to realize it is a government of the people, by the people and for the people. Not of the people, by the people and for Congress." - Dr. Benjamin Carson, Pediatric Neurosurgeon, Johns Hopkins Hospital

Comment