X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jim_mex
    Retired troublemaker :)
    • Sep 2008

Norma, I'm home - for good!

So, the effect of the coronavirus has finally pushed me into retirement, albeit a little earlier this year than I had planned.

My California based employer decided to not renew my contract as part of a massive downsizing program after being hit especially hard by the effects of this pandemic. Fully understandable since in order to fulfill my role as a global quality manager I need to be able to frequently travel internationally, something which looks like being out of the question for at least 3 - 4 months and maybe longer. I will be parting on the best of terms and hold no rancor over their decision to let me go.

As I start to look back at 54 years of employment since I started work as an incredibly shy and introverted 16 years old junior laboratory assistant in a local ceramic tableware factory in the UK the one thing that I can say for sure about my career is that its been interesting, always challenging and I've never stopped learning new things and rarely been bored with my work. Its been at times a crazy roller coaster ride containing a high number of high spots along with a few very low ones and the one thing I know for sure is that for the most part its been an incredible experience.

When I officially finish my current job on April 15th, coincidentally my 70th birthday I guess my first thought will be ' 'Sh*t, I'm finally retired! Now what?
    '
    One thing I am sure I won't be doing is dragging a rocking chair out onto my small patio to spend the day lazing in the sun. I've got too many things buzzing around in my gray matter vying to occupy my time, and if I do run short of ideas my darling wife has a to do list as long as my arm that she has been begging me to take care of for years.