Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Potting around...

Happy New Year to all!

As a ceramist by profession I am known in the trade as a potter, but apart from having made pots in the past, when time permits, I have another past-time with a different sort of potting, namely that involving plants. Unfortunately I have very little time these days for either pastime so I have to leave it to Norma to at least take care of the second one.

Unfortunately my darling wife has struggled in the past to develop gardening skills and she definitely doesn't have my green fingers. Nevertheless she has stuck with this past-time and after condemning many types of plants to an earlier death in the past she has finally found a range of plants which are very difficult to kill, namely cacti and succulents, which here in Mexico aren't too difficult to find.

We don't have too big a garden area so most of our small patio area outside of our kitchen window is now filled with an array of plant pots housing a variety of thriving plants.

Once Norma bites the bullet there is no stopping her so after hearing her continually complaining that she had run out of space I took to making her a wall planter to house a few more plants.

I saw an idea a while back in an eco-housing exhibition using PVC piping to create planters. The idea looked very crude but functional and I decided to run with it, particularly as I unearthed some 3" diam PVC piping and a few 'Y' connectors whist cleaning my workshed out over Christmas. I'd planned to do some woodwork after cleaning the shed but instead ended up using my mitre-saw to cut PVC instead of timber. After measuring and cutting all the pieces I glued everything together with PVC cement and then sanded all the surfaces with 80's grit paper to help 'key' the terracotta color Rustoleum PVC paint I used to give my planter a more professional look.