POWER TOOLS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• POWER TOOLS

Although art orientated, I have never done any wood carving before. My inspiration came from when my elderly neighbour asked if I would cut his apple tree down for him, ( I would have refused normally, as I hate to cut down a live tree ) but the tree has hampered his access to his back garden for years. Anyhow, I cut the tree down and I decided to carve one of the many logs.
    I initially used a chain saw...the one I used to cut the tree down with :'( and I carved the log into a contemporary shape. My problem is I now need a POWER tool to shape finer details in my carving. Does anyone know of such a tool. I would imagine there are tools in existance....but I seem to have difficulty in finding them. :
    If there is anyone out there who could recommend one ...I would be very gratefull. Many thanks...desi

Re: POWER TOOLS

Desi - Wood Carving Illustrated publishes a power carving manual and all three of them are available as back issues. When you first come on the site instead of coming to the message board try either 'subscribe to wci' or 'wood carving illustrated' one of those two has a back issues option (can't remember which). The power carving manual should have sources to everything you need.

Comment

You could try a proxxon power chisel with bits or if you prefer get some supply catalogs and use hand/mallet chisels

Comment

You could try a proxxon power chisel with bits or if you prefer get some supply catalogs and use hand/mallet chisels

Comment

There are several ways to get detail with power.

1.You can buy a carving bar or two for your chainsaw and do the entire carving with the saw.
          http://www.chainsawbar.com/default.htm
          http://www.mfgsupply.com/ChainsawBarsCarve.html

2. You can buy an Arbortech grinder for the details.
          http://www.arbortech.com.au/woodmain.html