Sharpening class

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sharpening class

I have a question for carvers who have trouble sharpening.
    This August I will be teaching a class on sharpening carving tools.

My question is what would you like to know about sharpening?

That may seem like a stupid question, but your answers would be appreciated.

Re: Sharpening class

I'll get first in line for this one. I wish I were going to BE at your class. So far in my short carving life, I haven't done much real sharpening at all. I'm just learning a bit about it, but I need:

[move]SHARPENING FOR DUMMIES 101[/move]

Explanations of the sharpening 'terms' thrown around by carvers - i.e., 'wire edge' 'hone' 'strop', etc.

There seems to be SO many ways to sharpen - about as many ways as there are carvers, I'm learning. How does one decide whose sharpening advice to follow, without going out and buying tons of stuff in order to following everyone's?

Clear, concise explanation of what a sharp chisel or gouge FEELS like...LOOKS like...what the cuts look like if you're sharp.

You know, silly simple stuff like that :-)

Teri (boy, when I learn to sharpen, then I'm going to REALLY learn to carve!!)
    "Santas for the Soul" &&Original Carvings by Teri Embrey&&http://www.teriembrey.com&&[email protected]

Comment

Free hand sharpening or power ? How to maintain the right angle on gouges ,Slips and stropping on gouges ,v tools ?Perhaps a comparison of different stone types and their uses-arkansas,diamond-ceramic,sand paper. And as Teri said an explanation of the terms we might find in other sharpening instructions.
      I have no problem with knife blades but I'm sure there are other swho would add them . Don

Comment

Thanks, those are things that I had not considered.
        That is the type of information I am looking for.
        I was preparing to start right in with some close-up technical instruction.

Comment