X-acto and disposable blades

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• X-acto and disposable blades

I have been carving for a while now. I am self-taught and carved mostly saints in a folk way. With time I grew increasingly tired of sharpening to the point I try Power carving (does not do it for me, maybe for details). Anyway Right now what I have been doing is buying X-acto blades and carving with them. Once they are dull I dispose them. Well I might try to hone them before I do so.
    Do I have salvation? Is my soul lost to the lazyness of not having to sharp? I think I have never been properly trained or have enough patient shaeprning and honing.
    Please Help

???

Re: X-acto and disposable blades

X-acto knives are standard equipment in our carving group. We use the #11 blade for a lot of detail carving, and even some rougher work in tight places. We save some of the worn blades to mix glue, etc, but we buy them by the 100's and don't even try to re-sharpen them. We usually snap a point before they're too dull to use, so sharpening is kind of a moot point (no pun intended, of course). We all started with regular carving knives, mostly Helvies, but just about everyone added X-acto's early on. I still do most of my carving with my knife, but there's always a time and place for my X-acto, such as out-lining feathers on a song-bird.

Comment

When I first started carving, the only thing I had to carve with was a plain old box cutter utility razor knife. I used it for probably a year before getting a carving knife, and I really liked the way it worked. I still use it frequently for harder woods (I used it on my recent osage orange carving a lot) I strop the blades a few times before discarding them, but I don't think I have tried to sharpen them any other way. I think the razor does some things better than any carving blade I have.
      Use whatever works!

Donna
      Indiana USA&&http://pyrogite.tripod.com

Comment

Thanks for the advise.