Drawknives

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drawknives

How many of you out there use a drawknife to rough out a carving? As many of you already know, I also enjoy Blacksmithing when I am not carving. Just for grins, I cut one turn off of a large railroad car spring and forged it into a draw knife. Hardened it to Rc 57 at work and today I ground the edge on it. To my astonishment, it worked extremely well! I am amazed at how this simple tool can precisely rough out a carving almost as fast as a band saw! The one I made has a blade that is 3/4' wide and about 5' long. The handles look like a handlebar mustache with no wood grips. It is all iron but extremely controlable. If you haven't already tried a drawknife, you might find it very useful.

Re: Drawknives

I've been using a drawknife for about 8 years. First a large one (10') and just recently picked up a 5' one from Lee Valley.They can really trim down the time used in roughing out carvings.

Al

Comment

I'd never thought of using it on carvings ... use it a lot roughting out bows ... guess I'll have to sharpen her up and give it a go. Thanks for the idea.

Comment

Hi Gang,
        I purchased a draw knife from Flexcut a beautiful little tool. This one is like their other tools in that it does flex and it is extreamly sharp just like a straight razor. It is also very small and light I wouldnt be with out mine. I have three of them the other two are larger and heavy duty but on large carving they are the cats behind.
        Colin

Comment

Hi

I have in mind to buy a Drawknive for my roughing out works.
          I need one.
          Have you any recommendation to buy?

Flexcut, PFEIL, Other....

Saturno.
          Saturno&&-----------------------&&Regards from the Galaxy.

Comment