Bench Top Tools

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bench Top Tools

Has anyone had any experience with Tradesman products. I am looking at two items that sears has on sale. They have an 8' Drill press for $49.99 and a 16' scrollsaw for $109.99. They each have a five year warranty. This sounds like a good deal, but would like an opinion or two from all of the experience on this message board.
    Thank you all in advance for all your help.

Thank you Clifford_Parker for your very prompt e-mail return last month about how to make a walking stick for my girlfriend's dad. It is so wonderful to find people that are willing to share their knowledge. Like your website. You are truely an artist!

Brad (CC)

Re: Bench Top Tools

Brad, I have no direct experience with Tradesman. However, I suspect they are made in China and are probably the same ones sold by Harbor Freight. HF sometimes sells the drill presses for $29. The way the Chinese can sell stuff this cheap is cutting corners. The gears are not heat treated, the motors have fewer windings (less torque), the switches are cheap plastic, etc. Like with carving tools, you get what you pay for. I bought a Delta 8' drill press (Taiwan) and it is not great even for $99. However, I bought a $375 DeWalt scroll saw that has perfomed beyond my expectations. Anyway, I would highly recommend you consider a 10' or 12' drill press. My 8' is never quite big enough.

Comment