"Will You Make Me One?"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "Will You Make Me One?"

How do you respond when people (other than immediate family and best friends) want you to make them wood crafts for free?

If they simply say "Will you make me one?", you reply could be "Sure! That particular one is $ xxx , does that work for you?"

If they want one for free explain to them that "This is what I do for a living. Wood, blades and other materials cost me money to buy, not to mention my time"

if they get snarky, I'd say "What would you say to your boss if he asked you to work for free today?". that'll usually end the conversation
    Janette
    www.square-designs.com

Comment

Perfect answer Janette..
      "Still Montana Mike"

"Don't worry about old age--it doesn't last that long."
      Mike's Wood-n-Things LLC

Comment

Direct to the point and not in anyway rude.

I like it. Thanks Janette
        Last edited by HAMMER; 03-27-2012, 02:01 PM. Reason: corrected an letter from cap. to lower case

Comment

Janette, I have used the boss answer many times....people just look at you, not knowing what to say. We had a party at our house a few months ago and my wife had set out a couple bandsaw boxes I had just made for everyone to see...she was proud of them I guess. One of guests noticed the box and started showing it to others..she just went on and on about how lovely it was, then she asked how much I sold them for.......I said that one is $200. She walked over, returned the box to where it was setting and walked away....guess it wasn't as nice as she thought after all
          Hawaiilad
          Larry

Comment

I think it's a no-win situation, no matter how diplomatic you try to be. There's no way to avoid the fact that they are asking if you will make it for them for free, and you are saying "no", no matter how reasonable your explanation.