scroll saw

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• scroll saw

thinking about getting a new saw,i have a 16 inch trade master any suggestions on what is the best saw to buy
    here is a link to my ablum take a look

http://s64.photobucket.com/albums/h178/georgeanneapril/

Originally posted by georgeanne
    thinking about getting a new saw,i have a 16 inch trade master any suggestions on what is the best saw to buy
    Hi georgeanne. I have a 18" Hegner. love it. but it is a high $$$$ saw. good luck. your friend Evie

Comment

Georgeanne,
      I have a Delta p-20(mid range saw) It just depends what price range
      you are looking at, High end saws are worth the money if you can afford them, I could not justify one so that is why I bought my particular saw. There are a lot of good saws to choose from most from this forum use the dewalt 788,the p-20 is not as popular but compares to the dewalt.
      Good luck,
      Bill
      Delta P-20

Comment

Hi Georgeanne
        I have a DeWalt 788 and an old Delta Q3..like them both

Comment

Georgeanne,
          Since you are looking to grade up, at the bare minimum I would look for easy tool-less blade change and a saw that accepts plain end blades. After that, as you move up the price scale, you get less vibration, deeper throat depth, variable speed, various other "bells and whistles", and perhaps the ability to cut thicker stock, so how far you go would depend somewhat on what sorts of projects you see yourself doing during the life of your saw. Some people have saws retailing for less than $200 USD and they produce beautiful projects. A really top end saw can cost $2000 or even more. The DeWalt and one of the Deltas are $450-500 ( and quite good for the price), and several really excellent saws are in the $900 - $1200 category. Depending on your budget, get the best you can afford, (ok - maybe just a little better) and then learn to use it well.