Do You Remember?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do You Remember?

Marcel, you got me started by posting your rememberances in the other thread. In 1957 (your birth year) I was a "junior" in high school. I graduated in 1958. I think I was the original "Richie" from the TV show "Happy Days."
    --I remember Saturday morning movies (serials) when the only air conditioning in town was the movie theater (we called them "picture shows"). It cost 15 cents.
    --I remember playing "cowboys and indians" with cap pistols. Now I guess it would be "Cowpersons and native Americans", but without the pistols. Someone might think they were real or a bad influence.
    --I remember staying out after dark playing "hide and seek" and chasing "lightening bugs.
    --" " when backdoors were all called "screen doors" and were generally left open most of the time and nobody broke in.
    -- " " my mother shooting at a "prowler" with a shotgun. Everyone had a gun in the house and were not afraid to use it.
    -- " " nickel (5 cents) coca-colas in bottles and coke machines with
    handles.
    -- " " 15 cent per gallon gasoline and a guy that pumped it for you, checked your tires and cleaned your windshield.
    -- " " when families only had one car and daddy usually drove it to work.
    -- " " everybody dressed up for Easter.
    -- " " everybody went barefooted after Easter.
    -- " ' burning my bare feet on the hot asphalt crossing the street during a Texas summer.
    I can go on and on, but I will give someone else a chance. This stuff brings a tear to my eye.
    Moon
    Old Mooner

I remember when I first came to Canada in 1965 I was a ripe 8 year old.
    The movies they showed us in England at the immigration center showed dogsled races, igloos and bilingual people.

We arrived in August to very hot weather.