Band Saw Blades

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Band Saw Blades

I just received a new band saw for Christmas. I have never used one before. All of my previous carvings have been made from roughouts. It came with a 3/8" blade, 7 teeth per inch. Is this the blade I want to use to cut roughouts with. Thanks for your help. p_bear

Re: Band Saw Blades

...well, most new equipment comes with general utility blades, in other words...a middle of the road blade, both when it comes to quality and as to its cutting ability. Since you will be using the saw for roughouts it should work just fine. You would want more TPI if you were doing more exacting work but since in carving the rough out lines are obliterated it does not matter. What is crucial when cutting roughouts is the speed in which you attempt to cut the wood, if you try and cut too fast it will cause the blade to arc thus losing the straight lines you would desire in a blank...

...congrats on the new tool!!!

Tony

Comment

That blade will serve for a short time, but I'd suggest you purchase a top of the line blade soon! They are more expensive but will do a much better job, have less drift (you'll learn about that soon enough) and last a lot longer than the cheaper ones. Wolf brand from Woodcraft is one of the best, but there are others around. Make sure you keep the tension set to prolong your blade life, and keep the guides adjusted.

I believe the Woodcraft catalog also has a chart showing the tooth configuration for various blades and a guide to selection.

Rockler has a similar area in their catalog if memory serves me right.

Al

Comment