Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What wood?

Hi,

I haven't carved on wood since I was a kid making a derby racer, but I decided I wanted to start up again. I haven't even touched a knife to wood yet, and I have a first question.

Does it matter what type of wood I am using right now? My thoughts are that there are a lot of basics I need to learn, and there is a lot of scrap wood around the house, ie, firewood, etc, so I can't see buying a nice piece of wood when it will probably end up in the fireplace anyway.

Is any type of wood okay?

Thanks in advance for your reply.

Mike

Re: What wood?

Hi Mike

I'm new to carving myself, but I do a lot of work with many different kinds of wood for my scroll saw projects. In reading up on the subject, I have learned that basswood or butternut are good woods for carving. If neither one of these are readily available, you might try either white pine or sugar pine. I'm told that we want to avoid yellow pine (the stuff 2 x 4's are made of) because it is difficult to carve, and the sap content quickly dulls tools. I hope this helps!

Comment

Billb pretty much summed it up. You can certainly carve on 'fireplace' wood but the frustration of working with hard or coarse grained woods may put you right off of carving. The softer woods as BillB mentioned are good to learn on as well as make your grand works of art with. Basswood can be purchased at a number of woodcarving supply stores, many of whom have web sites. Do a search on 'Woodcarving supplies' or 'Carving wood' and take your choice. And stay away from craft stores for your wood unless you have more money than brains.

Comment