wood carving tools

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wood carving tools

I am a complete newbie. I draw, and i would love to carve some ornamental pieces as well as wooden headed dolls. I found some wood carving sets on ebay, some more expensive than others, and some that were only 9.99 that stated they were 'good for boy scouts' Does anyone have any ideas on what pieces I should look for, begin with? I remember my dad carving with me when i was a lot younger, and he had a u shaped tool to remove larger bits of wood.. also, were there any books that yall started with that you'd recommend? Thanks quite a lot. christi

Re: wood carving tools

Christi, The reason those tool sets were good for Boy Scouts was that they are not allowed to swear. Most of the stuff I have seen on ebay is junk made in China or India and not worth wasting money on. True, good tools are expensive but well worth the money. Poor quality tools are difficult to use, come poorly sharpened (which means you have to do that first) and don't hold an edge. I purchased a set of laminated carving tools, made in Japan and called 'Power Grip', from www.woodcraft.com to carry with me when I travelled. A set of 5 was about $25 and they are very serviceable tools. They come razor sharp, and hold an edge well. For doing small carvings, you will also want a decent knife and I would recommend getting a Murphy knife for about $9. Murphy is the brand name. Its a good idea to buy or make a leather strop to hone the edges of the tools. Now, find a carver who can show you how to keep these tools honed, and you are in business.

Comment

Although I will probably catch heat from the older carvers,