Woodburning forum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Woodburning forum

??? I wonder if anyone else might like to see a forum on woodburning? I use my burner to enhance some of my carvings but I also burn some of the relief patterns as framed art (i.e., no carving, just pyrography). Anyone interested?

Re: Woodburning forum

I too ave used a simple burning iron to bring out the detials on some of my carvings. Yes I would like to see a forum on tips and techniques of woodburning.

Comment

OK, then lets just start one right here. The webmaster can set one up if we get a good dialog going. I have a Detail Master IV with up to 100 watts of power. However, any setting over about 7 (it goes to 10) and it is hard to tell which is being burnt faster, the wood or my fingers. I already have the overpriced rubber grips and they don't work. I should mention, I use the replaceable tip pens as the fixed tip pens are equally overpriced although I would be they are cooler. Does anyone have a solution to hot fingers?

Comment

Sounds like a good idea for a forum. I am away from home for a while but would like to follow up with it when i get back home.

The Moonraker

Comment

as far as hot fingers,turn the heat to 4 slow down,burn at an 45 degree angle,that lets the heat excape upwards and not at your fingers,i can't speak about the replacable tips as i use fixed.when you slow down your burning speed,you save the tip from exess pressure this also keeps your tip from wearing faster.

Comment

:P Well, I will give it a try but to get a really black burn, I need the higher heat. I found that high heat created a very dark spot with a brown halo around it and this was perfect for creating dragon skin ( see the new issue of WCI for the pattern). This may be a good lesson for those considering the purchase of a wood burning system: 100 watts may be too much power to really use. 35-50 watss may be sufficient unless you have asbestos fingers!

Comment